27

27 is fast approaching and life is not quite what I expected it to be at 27.

Growing up I figured by 27 I would have my life in order. I would be in a job that I loved and excelled at. I would have a place of my own, an apartment or a house in the London area, maybe an apartment downtown. I figured that I would be happy in a relationship, contemplating whether I wanted to spend the rest of my life with the individual or if it was time to part ways. I assumed that I would be leading a very active lifestyle; participating in community initiatives, playing sports, going out with friends and enjoying all that this area has to offer.

So far, life isn’t quite what I anticipated, which I guess is my own fault in a lot of respects.

27 is just around the corner and I am still searching for that job that I love, that gives me some form of security and enjoyment.

I have not yet attained my very own apartment, I am still living where the rent is cheapest, at home. (Upside I have my pets and I am available to help with family things, things I missed out on when I was away for University)

I am also single. Growing up I assumed that by 27 I’d be in a relationship. Even with 27 being so close, I’ve never been struck with the need to be in a relationship. I am content being single and I figure that when I meet the right person or at least an intriguing individual, I will desire a relationship more, but until then I feel no rush or pressure (despite my mother’s focus being squarely on me since my sister is married with 2 kids).

And what about the active lifestyle I sought? Having that outgoing, active lifestyle has become a bit of a challenge for me. I can be a bit of a shy individual. Most of my closest friends are spread out across the province, country and even the world. My closest friends are in St. Catharines, Toronto area and even all of the way in New Zealand and England. I like to think I am a fairly outgoing person, but I tend to like to be outgoing when I have someone else to be outgoing with.

Not having someone to do things with, in recent years has been my excuse for not doing a lot of things, well that and the fact that doing things costs money that I do not really have.

With my birthday approaching, I think it is time for a change. It is time to get back out into the world and stop finding excuses not to. I need to let go of the notion that things need to happen in order; that I need to find the job, and have the income before anything else can fall into place.

I just need to dive in and let things happen as they may.

So here is to 27, a year of new beginnings!

I’m not going to wait until 27 though, I’m going to do my best to start today!

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “27

  1. Pingback: It’s Gonna Be a Good Life | Thinking Out Loud

  2. Pingback: Local Blogs – 2011/07/10 – From My Bottom Step

Leave a Reply

