Time Flies

Have you ever noticed that you feel incredibly young until you think about how long ago something happened?

I turned 27 this week and I like to think that I am still pretty young.

No thanks to my mother who on my 27th birthday said “When I was your age I had 2 kids, what are you doing with your life”. To which I responded, “You had 2, Alicia (my sister) had 1, I’m just following the progression with none!”

Anyways,  I like to think that I am still fairly young and I think most people would agree.

Remember when you were a kid though and someone said 10 years, or 20 years, or a decade or two decades and you though, WHOA that’s a long time! That thinking is permanently engrained in my head and as such when I start thinking about how long ago things happened, it starts to make me feel old, though I’m really not.

Here are some things that I’ve thought about that make me feel old.

I started Kindergarten in 1989, 22 years ago

I finished Elementary school in 1998 – 13 years ago

I finished high school in 2002 – 9 years ago

I finished University in 2006 – 5 years ago

I finished College in 2008 – 3 years ago

 

Other things:

Courtney, one of my oldest friends, has known me for 22 years, since Kindergarten.

I used to play foot war with my pal Dave when I was in grade 2, 20 years ago.

I met my current hair dresser when I was 8, 19 years ago.

I went to my first concert when I was 19, 8 years ago.

I broke my first bone when I was (I believe) 13, 14 years ago

I’ve had my cat since I was 10, 17 years

My niece was born in 2005 – 6 years ago this October

My nephew was born in 2008 – 3 years ago

My Grandpa Corcoran Passed away in 2004 – 7 years ago

My Grandpa Carruthers passed away in 2003 – 8 years ago

It’s been the better part of a decade since I met most of my current friends in University.

 

Some of these things seem so fresh in my memory, but they are years ago now. I know the number of years aren’t huge, but they are enough that when I apply that childhood thinking I can’t help but go WHOA that was a long time ago! Or go Really? It’s been that long already? 

It is amazing how time flies, and so I’m told, it only gets faster.

Regardless of how fast it goes though, I am looking forward to every minute

Leave a Reply

