If I had the chance, I would ask Josh Groban …

So as you may or may not know, I have been selected as a #JLCreviewer for the Josh Groban concert on Tuesday night at the John Labatt Centre here in London, Ontario.

As such, being the geek I am, I have been doing my research. Checking out his YouTube Channel, listening to his music, downloading his most recent album, reading various articles I can find on him and his work.

After reading and listening to all of these things about Josh Groban I’ve thought of some questions I would ask if I had the opportunity. They are all pretty standard questions, and probably questions that are frequently asked, but still I’d love to hear what Josh Groban would have to say in a candid environment.

1) When preparing to record Illuminations, what made you choose to use Rick Ruben as the producer for the album. Sure he is a producer of mythical proportions, but he is well-known for producing numerous rock Albums. What did you think he could bring to Illuminations? How did you think his presence would change your recording experience? In retrospect how well did your expectations match the actual experience? Also what made you want to work with Semisonic frontman Dan Wilson?

2) If there was one artist or group that you could perform with or do a cover of, who would it be?

3) What is your most memorable or meaningful accomplishment to this point of your career?

4) You’ve worked with a number of Canadians previously, if you could work with or sing with another Canadian musician, who would you choose? (A question that stumps most non-Canadian acts)

5) What is your musical guilty pleasure? What would your fans be shocked to know is on your iPod?

6) This is your first time writing the majority of one of your albums, is there a specific song of this album that you are most proud of or that means the most to you, or that best represents you as a person, singer, songwriter, etc.

I have other questions in my mind, but those are probably the first that come to mind.  Mostly though, I want to understand the thinking behind the pairing with Rick Ruben because that I think to many seems rather counterintuitive.

Leave a Reply

