The Salary Question

Last week I blogged about an interview I had, well I made it to the second round. Based on what they told me the interview process will likely only be two rounds. I assume it is down to myself and likely 1-5 other candidates.

I am going into this interview fairly confident. I know my stuff, I am smart, talented and extremely hardworking, they would be lucky to have me.

There is one question I am dreading though; it is the question I always dread and stumble on.

The salary question; “How much are you hoping to earn?” “What do you think a fair salary would be?”

I hate that question with a passion, especially when I am going in blind.

When the job posting has no salary range attached to it and they’ve offered no information of that sort, it’s a crapshoot on what to say.

I don’t want to go too high because that could decrease my chances of getting the job. At the same time I do not want to go too low and totally undercut what I could be making.

I have an idea of what I would like to make and what I think I am worth, but I hate vocalizing that. Also do I give a range or a hard number?

I love the work I do, I love the profession I chose and would rather money not get in the way of me getting or doing a job. At the same time though, money is a necessary evil in life, I need it to pay my bills, pay off my debt and pay for the wardrobe I began purchasing for these interviews and hopefully this job.

I’m just uncomfortable with the asking for money ‘thing’. I know it is ridiculous and it is part of life but money talk has made me uncomfortable for as long as I can remember, I think because it was usually the source of family blowouts growing up and honestly still is to this day.

I like to think I have a good relationship with money, but it has some dark history that comes along with it.

Does anyone else hate this question or am I alone in wishing this question would not come up in interviews?

Leave a Reply

