I really hate being unemployed

I really hate being unemployed …

 

 

 

 

 

 

… so it’s probably a good thing that as of August 15th I will be employed!

 

I won’t share all of the details yet, as I am not sure if  I am able to. I will though say that I have been interviewing for a job in here in London ON. After two rounds of interviews over the last two weeks, I received a call this morning offering me the position. By 1:00 p.m. this afternoon I was at my new place of employment reviewing and eventually signing my contract and receiving some information on my new role.

My start date is August 15th, so on the 15th there will be a blog post (or maybe two, one here and one from my new job) letting you all know where I am and what I am doing.

I will say that this is a full-time, permanent position (providing I make it through probation, but I don’t see that being a problem), that is in my field and here in the London area.

Thank you to everyone who has supported me on my quest to find employment, it has meant a lot. The 3 year process to finding a permanent position was tough and having people to help my keep my spirits up was invaluable to me. A lot of people told me many times along the way that I should give up on London and move to a bigger city. I am glad that I did not though, because this area is my home and it is where I want to be. I look forward to being part of the London working community with all of the brilliant minds who are also working, or searching for work.

Thank you all for your support to this point, I look forward to being more involved in the London community as I take on my new role.

 

6 responses to “I really hate being unemployed

  1. Hello again Sarah, thanks for all the encouragement! I’m really excited about the interview (which is actually on Thursday, have no idea why I wrote Friday lol) and so far not too nervous. It would be great to meet you in person, I will keep you posted when I am in London. I really like the idea of a function for alumni. Let me know when you start to plan it, I would love to help out in any way I can 🙂

    • You are very welcome, always happy to support other alumni. I am sure you will be great! Don’t be nervous, just be yourself (that is harder than it sounds though). Well hopefully you are back in London soon and we can meet up sometime.

      I like the idea of an Alumni function, I mentioned it on LinkedIn probably about a year ago, but nothing ever happened, everyone just went to that IABC mixer instead. I’m just not sure how to go about it, because an event costs money. I guess I should put it to the group to see how many would be interested, what they would be willing to pay, when, where, etc. Who knows maybe we have enough people working places we might get some cheap space. I think we have one grad at Barking Frog and one use to be at Up on Carling, so maybe we can get some space on a deal. Here’s hoping we can put something together there are a lot of great alumni from over the years. I’ll have to put some more thought into this. Thanks for making me think about this again!

  2. Wow, congratulations Sarah! I am graduate of the same program as you, and follow you on twitter. Glad to hear all of your persistence and dedication has paid off and good luck in your new position!
    –Rachel

    • Thanks Rachel! I follow you on Twitter as well, you are in my CC&PR Alumni list. Three years to find a ‘real job’ was hard and it was very discouraging at times (not that I didn’t love my freelance work and contract jobs); I graduated at the absolute wrong time. The first half dozen jobs (at least) that I interviewed for I was up against people with 5-10 years experience and I would make it to final 2 and lose out because the other person (who had been laid off in the recession) had more experience. It took 3 years, but there is finally a flood of jobs in our field here in London. You graduated this year right? Have you found a position yet or are you looking? If there is anything I can do to help please let me know!

      – Sarah

      • Thank you so much Sarah! I am glad to hear about the up turn of better jobs in London! I have known several people who have graduated in the last three years and were unable to find work (and several of them have simply stopped looking). I think it’s awesome that you kept going despite the brutal early job search, and did your own freelancing (creating your own experience).

        I did just graduate this year. I am looking, but I am currently living in Kitchener-Waterloo, so I am looking here, as well as London, and Toronto. I would actually like to work in London (planning on moving back) and have an interview there on Friday. Good luck in your new job!

      • It is definitely good news that jobs in our field are coming back to London, it is about time! I know a lot of people too who have had trouble finding work in this field in this area. Many have left and moved else where, others simply took jobs where they could find them. Thanks, it was hard work to keep going at times; I had bad days where I was really discouraged, but having people who believed in me or supported me helped a lot, even people who I just know through twitter sending me encouraging messages made it so much easier.

        Congrats on graduating first off! And welcome to the ranks of Alumni! Best of luck with your interview here Friday! I hope you are successful and will be moving back this way soon! If you want feel free to DM me the place and who knows I may know something that could be helpful. Also I am going to be posting jobs when I see them more regularly to the LinkedIn Group. I was a bad alumni while I was job hunting, I wasn’t sharing everything I found, but I will do my best to share things I find. I do often retweet any jobs I come across on Twitter though.

        Come here Friday and Rock your interview! And when you’re back here, we’ll have to try to catch up in person, I love meeting other alumni! I need to figure out a way to swing a function for alumni, I just need to figure out costs and such. Anyways that’s a thought for another time!

Leave a Reply

